EP: Imperial & K.I.N.E.T.I.K. – Pencils Not Pistols

Standard

Imperial & K.I.N.E.T.I.K. - Pencils Not Pistols

If you’ve been around here a while you’ve probably realised that I have a thing for projects with a single producer the whole way through, and this should stand as an example why. I’ve been listening to K.I.N.E.T.I.K.‘s expert lyricism and flow for a little while now, but we only first heard him together with producer Imperial at the beginning of this year with Zone Out, a track that was initially destined to be a part of Imperials own debut solo album, but luckily sparked something, which has now become this collaborative EP. The chemistry between K.I.N.E.T.I.K. and Imperial is impressive and K.I.N.E.T.I.K. is sounding more comfortable through his recordings allowing him to have a little more fun. The opening track reflects this with a little skit from K.I.N.E.T.I.K., topped off with an instrumental piece that highlights Imperial‘s production skill with a sample heavy beat. This is followed up by the self explanatory Go Hard, but typic K.I.N.E.T.I.K. avoids the rapper cliche and references everyone from J. K. Rowling to Thomas Edison. The closing track has a similar idea of avoiding cliche’s by replacing the typical drug dealer rap with stationary. I’ll let you figure out the rest yourself. A infectiously good listen. Enjoy.

In closing, if Bill & Ted canceled a few excellent adventures and decided to make a Hip Hop project; then it would probably sound like this… Put your pencils in the air.

Leave a Reply

